Skip to content ↓

Learning and Curriculum in Nursery

At Midfield, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum, comprising 7 areas of learning which are divided into 'prime' and 'specific' areas.  

Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social, Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Our children meet learning experiences for all seven areas through a healthy balance of both adult-initiated/adult-directed and child-initiated play along with a problem solving approach to learning. These approaches enable them to develop a number of competences across all the areas of learning.

Click to take a look at the Development Matters 2021 document. 


Please see below our Curricular Goals and Curriculum Map designed and implemented by our whole staff team. Each goal is broken down into milestones so that we can see the progress being made by the child and their next steps.